Six Sigma is a disciplined, data-driven approach and methodology for eliminating defects (driving toward six standard deviations between the mean and the nearest specification limit) in any process – from manufacturing to transactional and from product to service. A lot of Fortune 500 companies and many of the prominent industry brands are following the Six Sigma methodology to improve their business processes.

Becoming a Six Sigma certified professional will open a host of new opportunities for you and you can get to work with some of the biggest companies in the world. A Six Sigma certification is also accepted globally, which will enable you to get opportunities across the globe.

Here are the steps that will guide you to become a Six Sigma certified professional:

Step 1: Understand the Management Philosophy of Your Organisation

The first question is to understand if the current management philosophy at your workplace or the industry you are planning to switch require for a Six Sigma certification. If you feel that a Six Sigma training is going to help the organisation to reduce waste and remove overhead, then you should suggest a Six Sigma training. Six Sigma training is also ideal for those who are in quality management, production or operations profile and are looking to improve their chances of getting better job opportunities.

Step 2: Choose between Six Sigma or Lean Six Sigma

Though in theory, Six Sigma and Lean Six Sigma have the same goal, there is some difference in the practices. The primary difference between Lean and Six Sigma is that Lean is less focused entirely on manufacturing, but often shapes every facet of a business. So, if you are associated with the manufacturing industry or production, then Lean Six Sigma will be the right bet for you. However, Six Sigma is the preferred choice if your organisation already follows it.

Step 3: Check Out Which Level Suits You

Are you a project manager or someone helping the project manager? Do you already know the basics of Six Sigma?

There are various levels of Six Sigma according to the different role it has to play in management:

White Belt:  Works on local problem-solving area that supports overall projects but may not be part of a Six Sigma project team.

Yellow Belt: Works as project team member and reviews process improvements.

Green Belt: Guide teams with data collections and analysis for Black Belt project.

Black Belt: Works on problem-solving projects.

Master Black Belt: Trains and coaches Black Belts and Green Belts.

You need to choose the right level for you. If you are someone who is not working on a project, it is better to start with the White Belt, and if you are someone who has project experience but never have Six Sigma training, then Yellow Belt is the right option.

Also Read>> How Six Sigma Certification Has Become a Key Requirement!!

Step 4: Learn about the tests associated with it

Every level of the Six Sigma has different areas of understanding of the tools and techniques associated with the methodology. There are two common methods in Six Sigma: DMAIC (Define, Measure, Analyze, Improve, Control) and DMADV (Define, Measure, Analyze, Design, Control). The proficiency tests usually include hands-on projects and written exams. These tests will ensure that you have the right amount of proficiency to complete tasks using the doctrines of Six Sigma. Learn about these tests before preparation.

Also Read>> 5 Must Know Questions on Six Sigma!

Step 5: Enrol in a training course

The best way to prepare for a Six Sigma proficiency test is to enrol in a training course. There are classroom training and online Six Sigma courses. Depending upon your convenience and requirements, you can choose whichever is best-suited for you. There is no formal body which provides training but, usually, most of the prominent training programs are accredited. It will help you to get the hands-on learning experience on the various tools and techniques used in Six Sigma methodology.

Step 6: Obtain your certification

There are a number of certification providers in Six Sigma. You can apply for it individually or, in some cases, organisations provide resources for such certifications. Some of the leading institutions which provide Six Sigma certifications are:

  • ASQ (Price: ASQ MEMBERS $288 | NON-MEMBERS $438 | RETAKES $238)
  • Vskills (Govt. Certification ) (Price: 4,500)
  • KPMG (Price: 23,000)
  • Indian Statistical Institute (Price: 9,776 )
  • BSI group (Price: 28,000)

Naukri Learning offers aspirants a number of Six Sigma training courses and some courses provide candidates with the facility to appear for a Six Sigma certification test.

Get enrolled in one of these courses and enhance your career prospects now.

Also Read>> Top Online Courses to Enhance Your Technical Skills!

Also Read>> Most Paying Certifications at the Click of Your Mouse!

Also Read>> Take That Big Career Leap with e-Learning!

5.00 avg. rating (97% score) - 2 votes